thegirlwiththecraftproblem

Just another WordPress.com site

New Craft

on February 8, 2013

Hey everyone!  Again it’s been a while.  Sorry.  But today I am very excited about a new craft!  I think you can call it a craft because it involved essential oils.  Oh Yeah!  It’s not soap making though.  Sorry.  It could develop into soap making though.  (Just to keep you guessing)

Blizzard coming here to the Northeast, so must keep busy inside for the next day or so.  It is really starting to snow out now.  Hope all my friends and family get home safely.  While everyone else was going to the grocery store yesterday to stock up on milk, bread and beer, I went to Hobby Lobby for essential oils.  I know – pretty funny.  A lady at work told me about these Vicks disks you put in your shower to clear your nose and head when you have a cold.  It intrigued me.  (She does way different crafts then I do and is always finding things on Pininterest.  (I limit my time there because I could spend the entire day))  She found a site to make your own Vicks Thingys, as I am calling them.  Go the Frugal By Choice Blg or just google Vicks disks and you can find the recipe.

It involves baking soda, water and essentials oils, mainly eucalyptus, rosemary and lavender.  Use about 2 cups of baking soda, then enough water to make a paste.  Add ten drops of each of the oils, or like me just squeeze the bottle too much and stop when you think it’s enough.  Put them into muffin tins lined with wrappers.  The lady at work used ice cube trays, which would work just as well.  Now let them harden overnight.  (I found one recipe that baked them, but there is no way I was doing that. Oh and you have to add the oils after baking.  Important tip!)  Once hardened, put them in your shower, anywhere the water hits and enjoy the head rush!

Try em.  Tell me what you think.  They only take a minute to make.  I think you will like it.  Talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

